Our Curriculum

Acklington CE First School

Curriculum Statement

a)   Foundation Stage:  In September 2000 a new Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) was introduced.  This covers the period of education from 0 to 5 years.  It begins in the Children’s Centre, then Nursery and continues to the end of the Reception year.  Children in the Foundation Stage will be working towards the Early Learning Goals which summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding across the seven areas of learning and development that young children should gain.  The seven areas consist of three prime areas: Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal Development and four specific areas of learning; Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.  Most children will be able to reach goals these by the end of Reception. This will prepare them for work on the National Curriculum at Key Stage 1.


b)  Key Stage 1:  In years 1 and 2 children are following the National Curriculum.  The learning is delivered via a topic based approach linked to programmes of study.  Statutory Assessments in Mathematics and English are undertaken at the end of Year 2.


c)   Key Stage 2: 

Years 3 and 4.    In Year 3 children begin studying the next phase of the National   Curriculum.  They continue with a topic based approach with more opportunity for independent research.  They will use and further develop skills learned in earlier phases. 

Approach to learning

Our approach is founded on the belief that the curriculum should be child-centred, based on practical, hands-on, concrete experiences, so that each child can build his/her knowledge, skills, concepts and attitudes through understanding.

We assess where each child is when s/he enters school at whatever key stage. We begin from that point and take the child through the curriculum at a pace appropriate to individual needs, so that each may be offered an equal opportunity to achieve their full potential.

Our aim is to deliver a broad, balanced, relevant and exciting curriculum which is designed to develop a love of learning which will last a lifetime and cover the physical, spiritual, moral, social, aesthetic, literate, mathematic and scientific development of our pupils.


To find out more about the curriculum followed at Acklington CE First School please contact Mrs Gordon via the 'Contact' tab.

Further Information About Schemes

A copy of the 2014 National Curriculum can be downloaded from



Further information about Jolly Phonics can be found at



Further information about Read Write Inc can be found at



Further information about Hamilton trust can be found at